Pinball Nirvana Home Page

Go Back   Pinball Nirvana Forums > Real Pinball > Maintenance & Repair

Maintenance & Repair Discuss and offer tips on real life machines.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-21-2013, 02:18 AM
Emery Emery is offline
Inserted Coin
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Credits: 5,844.05
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Emery is on a distinguished road
Default Williams 4 aces pinball machine

Hi, I have a Williams 4 aces pinball machine, I don't know much about it
When I first got it, it would always get stuck on "balls in play: 2"
Now, when credit is given, it doesn't activate player 1 or 2 light or the ball count light and leaves the controls locked. If I manually add score, it will still reset it.
Sometimes it will keep spinning the stepper inside the play field that keeps kicking the " knocker" trying to reset the ball count unit, that is reset, until power off

I'm not sure what to do and would love to play it again
Anything will help

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2013, 09:43 AM
faralos's Avatar
faralos faralos is offline
Faralos
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eastern Pa.
Posts: 1,816
Credits: 124,907.30
Thanks: 5
Thanked 194 Times in 171 Posts
Rep Power: 30
faralos has a spectacular aura aboutfaralos has a spectacular aura aboutfaralos has a spectacular aura about
Default

the IPDB doesn't have a manual for that one unfortunately
sorry
http://www.ipdb.org/machine.cgi?id=928
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2013, 09:52 PM
Coil_Smoke's Avatar
Coil_Smoke Coil_Smoke is offline
Pinball Pusher
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Planet Dirt
Posts: 1,010
Credits: 117,692.93
Thanks: 507
Thanked 384 Times in 300 Posts
Rep Power: 20
Coil_Smoke is just really niceCoil_Smoke is just really niceCoil_Smoke is just really niceCoil_Smoke is just really nice
Default

Is the ball count unit stuck? Does it reset to zero position? can you operate the solenoids that make it move by hand?
__________________

When Lit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2013, 10:32 PM
Emery Emery is offline
Inserted Coin
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Credits: 5,844.05
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Emery is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes I can move the solo noida by hand, it resets fine, it is not stuck
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2013, 10:00 PM
pinballdaveh's Avatar
pinballdaveh pinballdaveh is offline
Pinball Technician
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: poconos
Posts: 904
Credits: 60,188.36
Thanks: 218
Thanked 322 Times in 273 Posts
Rep Power: 19
pinballdaveh is a jewel in the roughpinballdaveh is a jewel in the roughpinballdaveh is a jewel in the roughpinballdaveh is a jewel in the rough
Default

when you press the start button to reset the machine do all the score reels reset back to zero , and are all score reel stack switchs in an open position? is the unit for the cards on the top of the head resetting? if it has a bonus unit is that resetting?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2013, 12:49 AM
Emery Emery is offline
Inserted Coin
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Credits: 5,844.05
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Emery is on a distinguished road
Default

I figured out that the bank of relays that's rest by the 110v solinoid, the 110v solinoid never activates, so if I push the solinoid for it, after entering a coin it works

Score reels and everything reset fine
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2013, 11:57 AM
pinballdaveh's Avatar
pinballdaveh pinballdaveh is offline
Pinball Technician
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: poconos
Posts: 904
Credits: 60,188.36
Thanks: 218
Thanked 322 Times in 273 Posts
Rep Power: 19
pinballdaveh is a jewel in the roughpinballdaveh is a jewel in the roughpinballdaveh is a jewel in the roughpinballdaveh is a jewel in the rough
Default

williams bank reset 110v coils are usually protected by a fuse. its usually mounted near the reset coil. the reset coil works thru 2 switches, 1 on 1 of the score motor cams and 1 on a relay usually coin, start, or reset relay. if you have a schematic the 110v coil will be at the begining, between the power cord and the transformer. on the schematic the score motor cam switches will have a circle around them. sometimes 110v wiring will be plastic coated wire instead of cloth coated, to help tracking down where it connects to.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2013, 11:35 AM
Emery Emery is offline
Inserted Coin
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Credits: 5,844.05
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Emery is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok thanks, I've ordered a shematic, the fuses are good (tested with meter)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
4 aces, ball count unit, reset, stuck, williams

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinball Titles I've Played: Vpin/Real Life (LONG POST) GravitaR General Pinball 18 04-17-2015 02:25 PM
PINGAMES AND GAMBLING JonPurpleHaze Articles from Russ Jensen 0 11-07-2014 04:48 PM
A Visit With Harry Williams JonPurpleHaze Articles from Russ Jensen 0 11-05-2014 06:54 PM
Imported Messages (826 entries 7/2001 to 1/2012) JonPurpleHaze IRPinball's Guestbook 1 01-31-2012 12:09 AM
Pinball Slogans GravitaR General Pinball 1 06-06-2009 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Template-Modifications by TMS
Credits System provided by vBCredits II Deluxe (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.15 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.